Hello, world!

I thought it would be fun to start a “work” blog, where I can talk about things that I’m working on or would like to work on, or just think are cool and interesting. It remains to be seen whether I’ll keep it up, so I’m starting out here on wordpress.com. I’ll move to a proper host later on, if that still seems like a good
idea.

My real reason for doing this is to have a forum for speculation. Mathematicians in general are reluctant to speculate, and wary of looking stupid. I don’t want to look stupid either, of course, but refusing to talk about things I don’t understand strikes me as too high a price to pay. (Also I seem to end up making a fool of myself in any case, so I may as well make a virtue of it. :-))

So this is intended to be a sort of public notebook, a repository for ideas that are too trivial or speculative to publish, and which I would otherwise just write on scraps of paper or forget about altogether. It will be interesting to see whether anyone reads it. I would love to read something of the sort written by someone else: am I the only one?

So welcome to bosker blog! Feel free to drop me a comment if you’ve stumbled across it somehow and you want to say hello.

This entry was posted in chatter, news. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello, world!

  1. Jon says:

    Hi Robin, nice blog you have here!

Leave a Reply

